The Magnolia Flouring Mill is also known as the Elson's Flouring Mill. This mill was built in 1834 by Richard Elson. The original hand-hewn beams are visible today. In 1881, Richard turned the operation of the mill over to his son Augustus R. Elson. Augustus had three sons, Richard, John, and Frank who worked in the mill helping their father until 1920, when they assumed total responsibility for the mill. In 1947, Richard's two children, Mack and Lorene Elson became the owners of Magnolia Flouring Mills. Mack Elson is still managing the mill today.
The mill was strategically located on the Sandy and Beaver Canal. The railroad ran through the town of Magnolia and its station was located behind the mill. While the Sandy and Beaver Canal was flourishing, so was the Magnolia Flouring Mill. Easy access to the two modes of transportation allowed the sustained success of the mill. Remnants of the canal exist and the old railroad station remains behind the mill, acting as a warehouse.
Today, Magnolia Flouring Mill operates as a feed mill. The mill has used electric-power since 1940. The interior of the mill exhibits the original hand-hewn beams built by Richard Elson in 1834. There are many pieces of antique equipment in the mill. An old waterwheel is extant in the basement level.
Magnolia Flour Mill has received many additions since 1834 and is a large impressive structure. The basement is laid with sandstone. The frame structure is 3 1/2 stories. It is covered with red lap siding and trimmed in white. The windows are 9 over 6 double hung.
The Magnolia Mill is exciting to visit not only because of its rich history, but the surrounding community, the old canal, and the functioning mill make the trip very exciting. (Gard; Reeb).